Getting Ready for the Book Launch


There is a very interesting conversation on Kindle Boards with Joe Konrath and the other Kindle authors on the subject of pricing. There is also a very interesting conversation on Goodreads about pre-publication publicity.

As I’m getting ready for a spring launch for “Swallow the Moon” I need to figure out what to do to generate some ‘buzz’ for the new book. To that end I have done a few things that I thought I would not do otherwise.

  • I re-joined Authonomy, posting “Let’s Do Lunch” and creating a presence in the forums. The reason that I took this (drastic!) step was to promote my books. The changes to the rules appear to be working, so I will give them a chance.
  • I dropped the Amazon price of “Let’s Do Lunch” to $1.99. This price change is in support of the Authonomy posting. We’ll see if it does any good.
  • I’ve dug out and dusted off a couple short stories that I can turn into novelettes. These will go on sale for $.99 each.
  • I have actively started looking for opportunities to promote my books and my blog. This means dusting off an interview with Zoe Winters and being interviewed by others.
  • All of these action items are contingent on family matters remaining constant, at the very least, but I pray that the worst is over. Last year was ‘interesting’ in the worst possible sense of the word. It could have been a lot worse. Still my parents’ illness, my husband’s bike wreck and multiple hospitalizations sucked pretty damn bad. 

I’ve got my goals and my action plan. Stay tuned.

One thought on “Getting Ready for the Book Launch

  1. K. A. Jordan says:

    Well, what a busy few days this has been.

    I’ve got my photo on Kindle boards and Nookboards.
    I created the B&N account.
    Fiddled with the “Let’s Do Lunch” source file,
    Uploaded the tweaked cover,
    Shmoozed on Nookboards, Kindleboards and Authonomy.
    Saw an uptick of hits on Smashwords and Blogspot.
    and puttered around in the office.

    What shall I do tomorrow for an encore?

Leave a Reply

