More About That Tortoise – And Then Some


More About That Tortoise.

I had to read this post twice – because as someone burned when the dot.com bubble burst I wanted to scream “NOT AGAIN! NOT AGAIN!” stop writing and hide under a bed somewhere.

Once burned, twice shy – the saying goes. However, it’s not the thought of bubble bursting that has me hyperventalating.

Truth paraphrased -> fools rush in where professionals tread with care. Which means that while “Tiffany Wannabe” may be pumping out junk – the pro-writers with some serious backlist are starting to gently dust off books lovingly stored away for years. I’m waiting to see some ‘neo-classics’ from various genre appear in e-book format.

My reader-self is squeeing madly at the thought of having my old favorites available, as well as books I wanted to read, but never found because of the “book as produce” model.

My writer-self is shaking in her boots, because pro-writers with serious backlist…yeah, same reason.

I’m not worried about people who can’t write cluttering up the $.99 ghetto – I wasn’t planning on staying there. What I’m worried about is the release of millions of books of backlist. As ZW noted – there are over 3mil e-books on Kindle. What is this going to look like when there are 6mil, 9mil, 12mil – because of millions of professional quality backlist books released into the hands of loving fans, and the next generation of loving fans?

(YEEP!)

If it is hard to be discovered now – what is it going to take to get discovered when ‘The Real Writers’ bring out their back list?

For example – once the likes of Andre Norton is released – are modern women fantasy/paranormal writers going to sell books, or will the re-discovery of the Grand Dame of Sci-Fi blow the rest of us out of the running?

That’s what worries me.

Leave a Reply

