The Long, Slow Goodbye. (Or the meltdown resignation) (via Zoe Whitten’s Blog)


I understand exactly where this woman is coming from.

It is crazy hard to do what Indie authors have to do in order to get noticed. This Zoe has been at it four years and has yet to hit the ‘breakout’ stage.

No one knows why raw talent isn’t enough. No one knows what it takes to get to that elusive place where sales take off through the roof. But this Zoe isn’t the only one who can’t get their hands on that gold ring.

Take a look at this post from Joe Konrath, a follow up guest post from Guido Henkel.

Four years ago, I started an experiment and self-published my first story through Lulu. It was full of typos and first-time mistakes, and ever since then I’ve strived to put together a better book. In those four years, I have reached the point where my self-published books were as good as the pro books, and in some cases, mine were even better. I made tables of contents for mine, and lots of pros didn’t bother. I revised my ebooks when I found mi … Read More

via Zoe Whitten's Blog

One thought on “The Long, Slow Goodbye. (Or the meltdown resignation) (via Zoe Whitten’s Blog)

  1. K. A. Jordan says:

    I have nothing but compassion for Zoe Whitten.

    I’m reposting this with empathy, because ANYONE can get this frustrated. There is a point beyond which writing becomes a complete drag. The joy goes out of it and what used to be a labor of love becomes utterly painful.

Leave a Reply

