The Ethics of Perfection


Something strange happened as I was proofing ‘Let’s Do Lunch’ – Create Space will give you up to 80 corrections before you have to resubmit the manuscript.

I was at page 178 when I realized I would run out of free changes.

The first thing my mind said was ‘stop at 79 and screw it.’

I could do that – or I could take a big girl pill and fixed the GDMF mistakes I made.

Am I a big girl – or am I a cheapass?

Good question.

Added 9/7/11

Once I got started looking at the errors – and the contract – it said ‘changes to text’ which these aren’t. They are changes to punctuation. I submitted what I had – we’ll see what comes back from them.

Everything is negotiable, well, not everything, but you never know until you ask.

So I will ask. The worst they can do is tell me ‘no.’

7 thoughts on “The Ethics of Perfection

  1. Catana says:

    On the one hand, it sounds to me as Createspace has found one more way to squeeze money out of writers. On the other hand, If there are that many errors, you probably needed to spend more time on proofreading before submitting. Everything I read about Createspace and Lulu just strengthens my resolve to publish only in digital format. At least, if someone finds an incredible booboo, I can correct it without shelling out any money.

    • K. A. Jordan says:

      Yeah, I know what you mean. It is a toss up – and not a good one.

      I was POSITIVE there weren’t that many errors.

      Then I found 3 pages with a couple of errors each and the count was scewed from there.

      I can’t whine about it – I’m the person who proofed it, with help from a friend.

  2. Catana says:

    It’s pretty scary, actually, how many times you can go over the same material, as carefully as possible, and then you learn there are still errors. Even after a beta’s looked it over.

    • K. A. Jordan says:

      Doesn’t help to find out that I did it wrong in the first place. LOL Thought I had it down, but not so!

      After awhile I can’t see the words on the screen any more. Have to put it in an e-reader (nook) to see the errors. Then on paper to be sure.

      Paper is best – but expensive.

      What do you write?

  3. Catana says:

    What do I write? Genre? Kind of crossover, tending toward SF.

    I don’t even have a printer anymore, so I’m safe from spending money on paper. I normally enlarge the type size and pick a different font for proofreading, but maybe formatting a copy for my Kindle desktop app would be a good idea. Typos really do stand out there. My only hardware ereader is my iPod Touch. I know someone who edits his work on his Touch, but it would drive me crazy. Another technique I’ve thought of trying is highlighting one or two paragraphs at a time and see if that would help with focus.

  4. K. A. Jordan says:

    The e-reader apps work very well for me. There are Sony & Nook e-readers in the family. Even used my smart-phone to d/l a file and read it – had the file open on the laptop so I could make corrections.

    I’ve got a distopian in the back of my head – world-building is a bear.

    I write contemporary and paranormal women’s fiction. There is not enough sex to make my books romance. (shrug) Some people have the knack for writing it. I don’t. But I can write action and tension pretty well.

  5. Catana says:

    I’m prepping a pretty dystopian novel for NaNoWriMo. I’m not crazy about world-building, either, but this novel really has to have it. At least it’s a new challenge, an important part of learning the craft. Little to no sex in my books. And usually, no women. I’ve never been the “proper” kind of female, and normal women are mostly a mystery to me. I seem to have slid into writing about male/male relationships, but not necessarily romantic, which means I don’t fit into any genre very well. I’m more interested in the psychology of my characters than in their love lives. I do try to squeeze in some romance because my characters would be just too alien, otherwise.

    The main thing is that I love writing, would like to earn some decent money from it, but I’m not sufficiently motivated by money to write what sells best.

Leave a Reply

