The Urge to Purge


I’m SO glad I’m not the only person who has this almost compulsive desire to get rid of stuff. (No, I’m not talking about puking, that’s a different urge.) I’ve had the urge on and off for a couple of years now.  This makes me an odd-ball in a family of Hoarders.

When I joined FlyLady – a life-coach for hoarders – I made a commitment to get rid of a box of stuff a month. This was easier and more fun that I though it would be…though there is about 10 pounds of paper staring at me in the corner of my office. It used to be 20 pounds, so I’ve improved.

I indulged the ‘urge to purge’ over Christmas by giving my sister a HUGE box of clothes. All good stuff, only a couple of years old that no longer fits. (It shrunk in the dryer, I swear!)

Other authors get overwhelmed by stuff – Zoe Winters who has just moved into a great house and adopted a “minimalist lifestyle” (no clue what that is, but it SOUNDS great) has found herself in trouble. Minimalism Fail: The Creep Has Started. I laugh at her struggles relate to her posts because I have the same issues.

I was once tested at work for major and minor personality traits – I was a double profectionist. My boss immediately warmed to me. (Kinda like being snuggled by a shark – but that’s another story.)

I know that perectionism and the drive for organization is the symptom of being a control freak – yeah, well, just shoot me! (If your life was as out-of-control as mine, you would want some freaking control, too!)  🙂

I bought a pack of business card organizer sheets last night – with my 4 inch memory foam bed topper – just to indulge that part of myself that was always told to ‘shut up and go away’ before. Now, being a ‘work-from-home’ writer, my clutter issues bug me. I had two beautiful closets re-done and I’m pissed because I’ve got more stuff than will fit.

The bug in my ear right now is the crap in the barn. There are too many machines, tools and assorted horse tack that I don’t have a place to store properly, so it’s scattered all over. 

I want that space for my annual Poultry Experiment. It always fails because the barn isn’t organized enough for the baby birds. I get a little better every year, but still it pisses me off that I can’t store stuff in the shed because that is the Dwelling Place of the Sacred Motorcyle.

WHICH is the heart of the matter. The shed is plenty big enough for all the crap I need to store BUT it’s the Dwelling Place of the Sacred Motorcyle and nothing is allowed in the shed because SOMETHING might get it dirty, or GOD FORBID scratch the Sacred Motorcyle.

Yeah, I’m married to a Biker – even if the Sacred Motorcyle isn’t a Harley, it’s still THE SACRED MOTORCYCLE.

So I’m off to rent a storage unit for the lawn machinery.

Later!

Leave a Reply

