Gone Fishing


I’m taking a break from blogging and from writing.

I haven’t posted it here, but I lost my Mother this January. It was sudden and I’m simply not myself right now.

This is one of those times that define a person. Or in my case – I feel I’ve been un-defined.

I’ve gone through the motions, these last few months, without being able to accomplish a darn thing. “Swallow the Moon” has a paperback proof sitting in my home office – untouched. My downtown office is closed – the place where I finally finished “Let’s Do Lunch” as a paperback and where I did most of the work on “Swallow the Moon” and “Tempest in a Teapot” sat abandoned for a couple of months before I got up the energy to move out.

I had planned to go to Ashtabula Harbor for the Beach Glass Festival and sell paperbacks. But even that requires more energy than I currently have to burn. Maybe I’ll get there – as a visitor – and do some research.

I went fishing with some girlfriends last weekend and came back with just enough of a clear head to acknowledge that I don’t have a clear head. I’m bummed out – exhausted and burned out on the Internet in general and marketing in particular. I want to enjoy my house and my animals – ride my motorcycle and maybe go fishing some more.

One day a character will form in my head and I’ll sit down in my office to write. I know this because after 40 years of writing it has never failed me. But some times it’s best to let them ferment before I put them on paper.

3 thoughts on “Gone Fishing

  1. Becki says:

    You are an amazing, talented, brave woman. I admire and relate to your love for your Mom…and can’t imagine the depth of this loss. Sending love…

  2. Christy Hayes says:

    Take all the time you need, Kat, to get healthy again. Loss is so hard to rebound from and find a new normal. You’ll be better off for taking the time now to heal yourself. I’ll be thinking of you during this time.

    • K. A. Jordan says:

      Thank you! It’s been terrible – but the well-wishes I get from my friends lifts me up and keeps me going. I’m starting to do some updates, and hope to have ‘Swallow the Moon’ in paperback soon.

Leave a Reply

