Keeping Christmas 2012


IMAG0103

I love being home on Christmas Eve. There were so many years I had to work over the holidays that my husband and I never made any traditions. But since we’ve moved to Jordan’s Croft, I like to spend Christmas Eve in front of the fire.

I’m still doing my baking – night before stuff. I dropped one of the pumpkin pies, it splattered all over the oven, the door, the floor, dishwasher. You can imagine what I screamed, and it wasn’t ‘Merry Christmas.’ 🙂

Ho, ho, ho? No – not that either.

The dogs jumped in to clean up the mess. They did a pretty good job. The rest of the mess was allowed to cool then I fed it to the chickens and the cats. The cats seemed to like the eggs and cream because they ate more than the chickens did. I don’t think the girls liked having a sticky beak.

Around 9 pm I thought I should take a run to Walmart, only to find that it was closed. Could have knocked me over with a feather. But it’s about time Walmart treated their people better.They are the largest single employer in America. But all the blue collar jobs pay less than poverty wages.

Grrrrr – I think it’s time to change the subject. Reading Season starts tomorrow, when everyone opens their new Kindles, Nooks, Kobos and assorted tablets and crashes all the servers on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Kobo. ‘Tis the season to be jolly…

The horses were glad to be in warm, dry stalls after a day in the drizzle. The geese followed them in and climbed into their cage to get a night time snack. Hubby helped me last night and laughed at the way the geese step up, into the cage, so serious and with great concentration.

The chickens had been in the roost for hours. As soon as it starts getting dark the girls come in. They aren’t taking any chances with the coyotes. Their gizzards stick out like they’ve swallowed apples. Every single one looks top-heavy.

The coyotes are out, singing slaying songs to the moon. They weren’t that close tonight, but they cover a lot of ground in a hurry when they are hunting. I get the shivers when their close, I feel like they are watching me. I can’t wait to get my critters inside on those nights. I want metal doors between my horses and the coyotes.

Inside all is peaceful. Christmas music plays in the kitchen. The bread machine is on the dough setting because I’m getting ready to bake the rolls for tomorrow. The fire is burning low – I’m not going out for more wood tonight, tomorrow is soon enough.

I’d better send this off – the bread machine is about to beep.

Merry Christmas – Happy Holidays!

One thought on “Keeping Christmas 2012

Leave a Reply

