Final Draft – Finally


Image
Cover by Katie W. Stewart

‘The Emissary’ is an adventure tale, set in a world in ruins. The Zombie Apocalypse was two years ago – the survivors are struggling to hold their own against the muerto – the walking dead. In order to survive, humanity has to band together.

Beth McLeod is determined to make happen. She is the Emissary.

Cover artist – Katie W. Stewart – gets full credit for this lovely cover.

I’m done procrastinating.

Really.

I’ve got the final edits to ‘The Emissary’ text and am working on front and back matter today. Some time tonight I will publish the story.

It is a matter of where it will go up first.

A year ago, there would have been no question – I would publish to Amazon and KDP Select for the 5 free days. It would have tied up the e-book for 90 days, but (a year ago) it would have given the book plenty of exposure.

Unfortunately, this business has already changed so much that Amazon exposure is no longer a guarantee of success. In fact, Barnes & Noble, once my best market, hasn’t given me a sale in an entire year.

Not one.

Kobo, oddly enough, has provided me with more sales than B&N. Even odder, ‘Impressive Bravado’ is my best selling e-book.  (Everywhere but Amazon. ‘Let’s Do Lunch’ is my best seller on Amazon.)

It was the success of ‘Impressive Bravado’ that led me to writing ‘The Emissary.’ I think there is a market for horse stories – or should I call them “Equine Adventures” instead?

However, I can’t see any giveaway numbers on Kobo. Therefore, there is no sense in going there first. I’ll never know how the book did.

That leaves me charging a pittance for it – not a good way to introduce a series. IMO, if I introduce the e-book for cheap, I’ll never get my money back out if it. (I learned that from ‘Swallow the Moon’ the hard way. After 2 years sales are sluggish to non-existant. It does well as a freebie, but that’s it.)

Smashwords is great – as a distributor. But it will take 3 months to get an idea of how well the e-book does. Worse yet, it will take at least 6 MORE months, if not a year, to get paid. My intention is to put out a quarter of the e-book every few weeks.

So I have a lot to think about – today – because this book is going out in the next day or so. I want it on sale this weekend – somewhere.

Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Final Draft – Finally

  1. J Drew says:

    Kat,
    Good to see you are writing. With no response to recent e-mail I thought maybe you’d dropped out of all this. “Horse stories” seems like there’s a market. I just did a submission through D2D for my new book – too soon to tell what that means but based on what others have said – beats Smashwords on many fronts. Hope to talk soon.

    • K. A. Jordan says:

      I had a long comment – and lost it. Drat!

      Let me know if D2D works for you. Another friend of mine has published one of his works to it.

      I think I’ll go with Kobo – just to see if I can make a few more sales in the ‘horse sports’ genre. This should be interesting. LOL

Leave a Reply

