Confession of a New Obsession – Spinning


Foot kick spindle

I’ve always been a spinner of tales. Sometimes, I need something to do with my hands and my mind while I’m working on a story.

The usually thing is to play Spider or other game of solitare. However, after 4 novels, I’m utterly bored with card games. So I started crocheting about the same time I started working on ‘The Emissary.’

The trouble is that there really isn’t a lot of choice in yarn out there.

I wanted a red, white and blue yarn or a green and white yarn. Niether of which I was able to find.

And the selection of dark natural colors was also limited. I couldn’t find what I wanted at a price I could afford.

I started with a drop spindle kit from Amazon. Which got me looking for a local teacher. When I found one, I started looking for some local with wool.

I found that, too.

Then I found a Llama rescue organization.

It’s only taken a couple of weeks to get in this deep. Luckily I had sense enough to say no to the lovely person who offered me 2 fiber llamas.

It doesn’t take very long to get in over your head these days. Just type in a question on Google.

The llamas arrive in May.

LOL

3 thoughts on “Confession of a New Obsession – Spinning

  1. Leah says:

    That is hilarious! I would have a sheep or two, but they won’t fit on the balcony of our two bedroom condo…

  2. K. A. Jordan says:

    I’ve just gotten back from the rabbit hole I fell into looking at your blog.

    There is a world of knitting out there – I think I’m really going to enjoy exploring it.

  3. K. A. Jordan says:

    Update – The kickspindle is on it’s way. I’m looking forward to starting classes in spinning this week.

    I decided to take my time with the llama gig. I’m not as young as I used to be, and I’m backed up with other projects. Once I get caught up – I’ll figure out what I want to do.

Leave a Reply

