Spinning, Fuzz and Plastic Shopping Bags?


Digital CameraI was bitten by the crochet bug many years ago. Unfortunately it was one of those hobbies that I enjoyed, but wasn’t at all good at. I’ve made a couple of hats, scarves, several afgans and now 2 shawls to my credit.

There are also a few oddities, like plant hangers, a gourd hanger and…these shopping bags and project bags. Wait – I need to take pictures.

Okay, got it.

These are shopping bags and project baskets made from..ta-dah! – plastic shopping bags. You know, the ones that blow in the wind, sending horses into free-fall panic. They appear everywhere and don’t seem to have any use, beyond being small trash bags.

When you cut them up into loops to create ‘plylarn’ the world opens up into possibilites that boggle my mind.

The first image is a project basket. I use it to carry my spindle, wool, etc. It is roomy enough to put a lot of stuff in it. Also, it can be scrunched up pretty small. The second picture is a shopping bag, with yarn crocheted into it for more support, as the bags will stretch out of shape. It is amazing what you can stuff into one of these. We are talking 4 dozen eggs!

Also in the first picture are two other project baskets. One is very small and round, and full of yarn in the picture.

My obession is getting pretty deep. Last night, while watching TV, I cut up dozens of plastic shopping bags. I store them in a valet case so they aren’t scattered all over the house.

It almost works. 🙂

So that’s what I’ve been doing for the last couple of weeks, while I wait for my books and my kick spindle to come in.

Digital CameraDigital Camera

2 thoughts on “Spinning, Fuzz and Plastic Shopping Bags?

  1. Leah says:

    Those are phenomenal!!! Wow! I tried it once and didn’t get very far with it..yours are amazing!

  2. K. A. Jordan says:

    Thank you! It took a couple of days to get the right combination of loop size and hook size. I’m fortunate to have a very old and VERY large wooden hook that makes the big bags. The yarn makes them much more sturdy – as well as prettier.

Leave a Reply

