Going a little “batty!”


Loving the new worlf of spinning, fiber and yarn that I’m finding more and more of these days. Here’s some lovely ‘art bats’ that spin up into wonderful yarns.

SeattleSpinner

I love that this:

20130417-112714.jpg
Came from this:

20130417-112807.jpg
And became this:

20130417-112900.jpg

I’ve gotten into carding batts that fit “my perfect criteria.” I had NO idea I was that picky until I realized how amazing batts can be to spin– if they are light, airy, and well combed!! (Clearly I have had some clumpy, squished and not well processed batts in my past purchases) The most recent batch was a wool that I got that was a tad scratchier than I would have liked, so I dyed a BFL, silk, merino, cashmere blend I had, added some recycled sari silk clumps, and carded about 1.5 ounces at a time. Gotta tell ya..it flew out of my fingers and onto the wheel. I spun 4.5 ounces in a few hours. It was awesome!!!

And (as per my last post) very stress reducing. 🙂

Spin on!

View original post

Leave a Reply

