The New Project – Backstage Work


I’ve been looking at my short stories, thinking there are many more that I could publish, easily if I had an ebook template for them in Scrivener.

I think it’s time to create it.

I’m going to ‘go hermit’ for another week. I need to get some more work done on Dad’s place as well as getting Part #3 of The Emissary finished. (Part #2 will go to the copy editor as soon as the chickens earn enough money to pay her. They need to get to it!)

Scrivener is perfect for this, because I can create modules with my front matter and back matter in them. Each story is a sub-file. Then I can simply compile the file and upload them to the relevant e-book vendor.

Once it’s set up, that is.

If you are curious about Scrivener – this is the home page.

10 thoughts on “The New Project – Backstage Work

  1. itwasjudith says:

    sounds like a great project 🙂

  2. itwasjudith says:

    just checking scrivener… it looks like an amazing tool 🙂 thanks for sharing

    • K. A. Jordan says:

      It IS amazing. To think that it was available only for Apple people for years. Now there is a version for windoz too!

      I bought it as a kind of database for my collection of short stories, but I fell in love with it, and no longer use Word to write.

      • itwasjudith says:

        apparently my other half has it (we both use mac), so maybe i’ll borrow it 😉

      • K. A. Jordan says:

        Report back if you like it…just because I’m in love doesn’t mean it will work for you.

        But…any software that ‘prints’ to an e-pub will save a LOT of aggrivation.

      • itwasjudith says:

        For the uni we had to use LaTex for writing our paper submissions. Other than that I didn’t need a special editor, but it’s always good to see what’s out there, especially because I do find a bit complicated to go through the various stages (from idea to material gathering, drafting and completing) when writing papers etc.
        There was another cool application (but it was still at research level, i.e. not for consumers) that allowed to gather snippets and reorganise materials while reading, to make it really easy to bring ideas to a meaningful form when learning/reading 🙂

      • K. A. Jordan says:

        I’m always amazed at how easy it is to use Scrivener to organize materials like websites and pictures into some meaningful order. It’s more like having a box to put clippings in.

        I’m still learning to use it, I bought the ‘For Dummies’ book so I could get a better handle on it.

      • itwasjudith says:

        sounds good 🙂 thanks!

  3. I’ve used Scrivener since it was a free beta. It’s one of a new class of applications designed for writers not document creators, like Microsoft Word. That’s a big distinction when it comes to creating manuscripts, especially ones that need to be repurposed in several formats. Scrivener also makes adding notes, annotations and extra resource files to a project easy. As Scrivener has grown more capable it has also grown more complex. I find that I use the original features but not so many of the the newer ones.Enter Scrivener for Dummies. This is a complete and well thought out introduction to the many great features of Scrivener and it also offers numerous tips that make my workflow more efficient. Instructions are very clear and complete. In short, this is an excellent book and well worth the money I paid for it.I have a couple of other Scrivener manuals. Writing a Novel with Scrivener is pretty good, though it shows some of the rough editing edges that many self-published books have. It’s still a worthwhile book, however, I prefer a paper reference book that I can add sticky notes to and scribble in the margins. The ebook, Take Control of Scrivener 2 by Take Control Books is also a good reference, but like Writing a Novel withe Scrivener, it isn’t available in paper format and a bit more difficult for me to reference. And, Scrivener for Dummies simply has more content and detail.Ms. Hernandez obviously knows Scrivener deeply and appreciates the program. That shows in this book. Highly recommended.

    • K. A. Jordan says:

      I recommend Scrivener for Dummies for anyone!

      It helped me figure out how to print to an e-pub, which saved me a lot of trouble with the infamous Meatgrinder software on Smashwords.

      Sorry it took so long to post this comment. It was stuck in the spam filter.

Leave a Reply

