One Person’s Opinion of ‘Swallow the Moon’


I know that mileage may vary – two people can read the same book and walk away with VASTLY differing opinions. Just look at ‘Twilight’ some people ADORED the book, the series, Edward and the movies.

I thought it was okay – a very YA (i.e. childish) romance.

So when I got some encouragment from the editor who will help me with the final draft of ‘Swallow the Moon’ I breathed a sigh of relief.

I think you’ve developed this book really well. I like the characters and how they develop as they go, I like how you develop their relationships. I HATE it when characters in books hate each other the first time they meet and realize they’re madly in love by their second meeting the next day. Your characters don’t do that. The timeline moves along beautifully. I think it’s great that you wrote a book taking place in your hometown. You explain the town well enough that I’m not left going, “Okay, that’s great, but I’VE NEVER BEEN THERE!” I understand the nerves and of course you’re going to get someone somewhere at some time telling you that they didn’t understand or like what you wrote, but I think you have a good story here. As far as the paperback question, I honestly don’t know. I’m not familiar enough with publishing to offer advice on that.

I wanted the setting to be vivid – I like having a sense of ‘place’ in a novel. (Got it!) I want the ‘Dark Harbor’ series to be something special. (The buck stops here.)

I, too, hate the old ‘bait and switch’ from ‘I hate him’ to ‘I can’t live without him.’ However, we are always sure that June likes Eric, even when she’s irritated with him.

Leave a Reply

