First Projects


Digital Camera

Of course the first thing is to process the fiber. Washed and dried, it dares me to pick up the cards and get to it.

Today, since it was sunny and warm on the back porch, I carded for awhile. I think it was a couple of hours before I had a basket full of rolags. I weighed the rolags, only to find it was under 2 ounces.

DRAT!

I like to divide the fiber into 1 ounce bags for spinning. The last few skeins have been nearly 100 yards to the ounce. I thought that was pretty good but I wasn’t happy with the ‘fine as froghair’ singles.

Another thing that’s been bugging me is the sheer scale of this project.

Yesterday, as I scrolled through the blogs, I discovered a post that mentioned production spinning. I’m so sorry I didn’t get the name of the blog, or I’d plug it. The writer mentioned that production spinning was very fast. A spinner couldn’t get caught up in perfecting every inch, she has to let it all fly.

I mulled over that all day. It really struck a cord with me. I DO check each inch – which is why my yarn is so fine.

So I asked myself – what if I went faster? I’d have to tinker with the wheel settings, but that’s what they are for, after all. It might just put more twist in the fiber, and I might get something a bit thicker. Tonight when I sat down at the wheel, I set everything a little faster.

BINGO!

I got more twist in the single, and it was consistantly thicker! Not only that, but I spun the whole ounce in a couple of hours with only a short break.

The difference in the two singles really showed up when I plied them. The second single was conciderably shorter and thicker, exactly what I’d hoped. Also the yarn had a really nice drape to it. It felt very balanced, not over twisted or under twisted. I got 90 yards by plying the end of the first skein with the end of the second.

I didn’t take a picture. I washed that skein right away.

Also I wanted to note that llama dries very quickly. A good breeze will dry out a skein in a couple of hours.

That mountain of fiber is starting to look more managable. LOL Looks like there are a dozen infinity scarves in my future.

Ho Ho Ho – Merry Christmas!

One thought on “First Projects

  1. K. A. Jordan says:

    I gave the llama infinity scarf to the lady who kept them. She loves it and says it is very, very warm. The chocolate brown is a lovely color, very soft, though it still has guard hairs in it.

Leave a Reply

