Who Are Literary Agents and Editors Anyway?


I see blog posts like this and I wonder where this person was during the snark-storm that was #QueryFail? Yes, #QueryFail was a million internet years ago.

It was my first eposure to Twitter, the sheer volume and vitrol of the tsunami of snark out of the office of her ‘friendly’ literary agents was…shocking?…no…mindblowing?…no…soul-crushing?…closer but not exactly what I’m looking for: Bitter, unprofessional, deliberately humiliating, unprofessional, hateful…ahhhh yes!

HATEFUL!!

So hateful that I vowed at that moment that I would NEVER give one red cent of MY money to such hateful, brutal, bitter, bitchy, wretched unprofessional asshats.

They can put on happy face masks NOW, but the cat is out of the bag. Never, never, EVER will I hire an agent to represent my books to anyone.

I’ll hire a lawyer.

Someone…you know…professional.

My apologies to Katherine Craft, I suspect she never saw any of the infamous #QueryFail tweets. They have been erased from the twitterverse…alas too late.

The damage is done, there is no reset button. Literary agents are not friendly, idealistic, peacemakers, they’re arrogant snarky bitches. They have been tried, convicted and condemned by the very #QueryFail tweets they sent out with such vitrol.

As for the ‘abuse’ they get from writers freed from their grasping claws…Karma’s a bitch.

Writers In The Storm Blog

Kathryn Craft Kathryn Craft

by Kathryn Craft
Turning Whine into Gold

In response to a tweet promoting a recent Twitter submission event, I received the following response:

 “To put it delicately, f*** the agents and editors. Never pander to what they’re looking for.” (Asterisks mine.)

 I would like to thank this “delicate” tweeter. His 92-character comment is so chock full of negativity and cynicism that it will easily power three blog posts here. I delight in the opportunity to turn this kind of whine into gold.

Since it is conference season, this month I’d like to address this tweeter’s obvious assumption that agents and editors are “those who are trying to keep him from publication.”

If you suspect this is true, yet are still planning to pitch to these individuals at upcoming conferences, your hidden thoughts are simply abrading twitchy nerve endings in a way that could result in hives the moment…

View original post 735 more words

4 thoughts on “Who Are Literary Agents and Editors Anyway?

  1. All I have to say about your response can be summed up in one word: yes.

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    I responded to this at Writers In The Storm. Thank you for adding to the discussion, K.A. I can tell you feel passionately about this.

  3. K. A. Jordan says:

    Jenny and Katherine,

    When I self-published “Let’s Do Lunch” in 2009 it was an experiment. When my e-book hit the Amazon best seller’s list top 10 in the UK (December 2010) I walked on air for the entire month and a half the book was on the charts.

    DIY publishing works and it’s profitable for the author.

    The legacy system works for agents and publishers. It’s not profitable for the author.

    Established industries only change when there is no other option. The auto industry is a good example. Publishing isn’t going away, but change is inevitable.

Leave a Reply

