Cautious Hope


I thank you all for the well-wishes.

My brother has come from Seattle to help me figure out how the nursing home works. I’ve learned a lot in a very short time. Unfortunately, there is much more to learn.

However, there is good news!

My Dad has gotten much stronger than I expected. He is still struggling with issues of brain damage from the stroke. However, he’s eating, which is a huge improvement, and the Physical Therapy is going well. 

I have discovered that I don’t like nursing homes. I don’t like the way they are always short-staffed. I don’t like the tremendous expense associated with them. I don’t like strangers taking care of my Dad.

Most of all, I don’t like the fact that I have a tendency to break out into teeth and claws when he’s not take care of the way I feel he should be treated.

When it comes to him and his care, I’m not a nice person. I’m a raving bitch.

I’m not proud of that. It’s kind of embarrassing. 

Still, we managed to get him the bladder cancer surgery he needed. The doctor used the laser like a scrub brush to abrade away the cancer cells. Dad was back to his room the same day. He slept yesterday, and was fine today. I’m pleased, it was a load off my mind!

Thanks again for the well-wishes!

2 thoughts on “Cautious Hope

  1. lollyknits says:

    Honestly, (and take this from someone who is a health care worker) in order to get your family members the care they need, you have to be LOUD. Don’t be ashamed of that.

  2. K. A. Jordan says:

    I’ve gotten a bit better, now that he’s stronger. It has become more of a task for them to contain him, instead of him laying in bed, unable to get up, he’s in the wheelchair, scooting around.

Leave a Reply

